Succession’s Brian Cox Reveals Who Should Have Been Logan Roy’s Successor

In a recent interview with Screen Rant, Emmy-winning actor Brian Cox has opened up about the series finale of HBO’s acclaimed drama Successionrevealing which of Logan Roy’s children would have been his pick to become the next Waystar CEO.

Although he feels that “none of them” can really live up to his character’s legacy, Cox believed that Kieran Culkin’s Roman Roy would have been Logan’s successor since he thinks that Roman has the potential to step up.

“The only one, ironically, who I think he feels could step up was Roman, because Roman showed a lot of sensibility, particularly in dealing with the Middle Eastern money — which was fake, and he knew it, and he could see it in season 2,” Cox said. “I thought, ‘Wow, there is a potential in Roman,’ as I believe there is, that’s why I think Roman really, really loved his father. I never watch it, if I can, I would say it’s bad enough doing it without having to watch it. [Laughs] My wife, who was actually in it, and she was, as a would-be director, shadowing Mylod, and then she got the role of my ex-mistress, which I thought kind of there was something where everything kind of came together in a way because of that. [Laughs] But, I watched it, and I just thought that Roman is such a child, he’s so lost, and everything like that, it’s amazing.”

Who’s the Winner of Succession?

The fourth and final season of Succession ended with Matthew Macfadyen’s Tom Wambsgans becoming the new CEO of Waystar after Lukas Matsson offered him the position. This result leaves the Roy children scattered and heartbroken. Creator Jesse Armstrong confirmed that Shiv is currently the only one who might still have the potential to reclaim the company in the future due to her role as the CEO’s wife.

The series starred Brian Cox, Jeremy Strong, Alan Ruck, Kieran Culkin, Sarah Snook, Nicholas Braun, Matthew Macfadyen, J. Smith-Cameron, Peter Friedman, David Rasche, Fisher Stevens, Hiam Abbass, Cherry Jones, Alexander Skarsgård, Stephen Root and more.

The Emmy winning series was created and executive produced by showrunner Jesse Armstrong, Adam McKay, Frank Rich, Kevin Messick, Jane Tranter, Mark Mylod, Tony Roche, Scott Ferguson, Jon Brown, Lucy Prebble, Will Tracy, and Will Ferrell.